Sunday, February 28, 2010

How long do I have to pay child support?

In Texas, the court can order one or both parents to pay child support until:

· the child is 18 years of age or graduates from High School, whichever occurs later;

· the child is emancipated through marriage, or through removal of disabilities of minority;

· the death of the child; or

· indefinitely if the child is considered to be disabled.

All of these time intervals are fairly self-explanatory except for bullet point number two. According to the Texas Family Code, any minor may petition to remove the disabilities of minority if they are:

· a resident of the state of Texas;

· 17 years old, or at least 16 and not living with their parents or legal guardians; and/or

· self-supporting and managing their own financial affairs.

Except for age requirements specifically stated in the constitution and in Texas statutes, a minor whose disabilities are removed legally has the capacities of an adult. This, in the State’s eyes, eliminates the need for a parent to pay child support.

If you need a Texas Child Support Lawyer, contact Peterson Law Group.

No comments: